Wk4- Artist Conversation- Samuel Jerrigan

Exhibition Information:

Artist: Samuel Jerrigan

Exhibition: Cookie Monster (*He gave permission to name it whatever I wanted)

Media: Ceramics, Sculptures, and Paint

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website:  http://cargocollective.com/samueljernigan

Instagram: @samueljenri

About The Artist:

Samuel Jerrigan does not think of him self has an artist, he thinks of himself as a musician. His art comes from playing guitar and that music. Works 14-16 hours a day doing his art and working in the Farmers Market. He loves fruit, fresh produce, and like to be talked to has Sam. Sam started working with clay in 2000, his work is inspired by toy and they change on what he thinks is funny. He is graduate post Bach right now. His hobbies include playing music, reading comics, binge watching cartoons, and riding his bicycle.

Formal Analysis: 

The Cookie Monster is made from clay and spray paint. The color is very dull in most areas and bright in certain spots like the cookie and pants. It is mostly straight with round curves. It has a childish made to it. It has almost the same height as a 11 year old.

Content Analysis:

Sam made Cookie Monster because it made him laugh and he felt like a child again. He was exploring what he could made with clay and relate it to his younger self. Cookie Monster is open to interruption and it can be name anything a person desires according to Sam. Cookie Monster was made to make a person smmile.

Synthesis / My Experience:

I found everything to the exhibit interesting but I really took interst in Cookie Monster beacuae it reminded me of my childhood. I was a big fan of Sesame Street and I was a even bigger fan of Cookie Monster; he was my favorite monster and I adored him. I like looking at this piece because I can relate to it  and it makes me laugh. Everytime I look at it, the Cookie Monster made Cookie Monster sounds holding the cookie. I relate with Sam on an artist level because I also like making thing that remind me of my childhood. It make you feel like a kid again with no real world worries.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

